TaskRoll: Table of Contents


What Is Dropbox?

This is how the official Dropbox Tour explains it:

Dropbox: “One place for all your stuff, wherever you are.”

Dropbox is a home for all your photos, docs, videos, and files. Anything you add to Dropbox will automatically show up on all your computers, phones and even the Dropbox website — so you can access your stuff from anywhere.

Dropbox also makes it super easy to share with others, whether you’re a student or professional, parent or grandparent. Even if you accidentally spill a latte on your laptop, have no fear! Relax knowing that your stuff is safe in Dropbox and will never be lost.

How Does TaskRoll Use Dropbox?

In addition to storing your workflows on your device, TaskRoll can store them also on Dropbox. In this way, you automatically have a backup of all your data in the cloud.

Share Dropbox Files

Like any other file on Dropbox, you can easily create a public link that you can share with your friends or colleagues, allowing them to download your workflow file. You can create public links in your web browser, in the Dropbox mobile app, or with your Dropbox client application on your Mac or PC.

Such a public link is also used within TaskRoll when you share a workflow via twitter.

To learn more about sharing files, visit the help pages on Dropbox.

Note: As an alternative, you can also email a workflow directly from within the TaskRoll app.

How Are New Files Merged?

You may have created workflows before linking the TaskRoll to Dropbox. Any such never-synchronized files will be uploaded to Dropbox. If necessary, conflicting file names will be adjusted such that other files on Dropbox will not be changed.

No attempt is made to merge newly created workflows with pre-existing workflows in the cloud, even if their project titles are identical.

If you do not wish to upload your current workflows, you should delete them before linking the TaskRoll with Dropbox.

Cloud Synchronization

Once a workflow has been uploaded to Dropbox, its local representation will be kept synchronized with the corresponding version in the cloud.

Thus, if the file was deleted in the cloud, i.e. on a different device, it will be deleted on your device as soon as the next synchronization is triggered.

In this manner, multiple devices may keep their projects synchronized with each other as long as no conflicts occur (see below).

Synchronization will happen automatically whenever changes are detected. If desired, a manual file refresh can be triggered with the refresh button in the upper-right corner of the Dropbox settings window.

Where on Dropbox are the Files?

TaskRoll (and TaskRoll Lite) uses a dedicated folder within the “Apps” folder within your “Dropbox” folder. The folder is named “TaskRoll”.

TaskRoll can only access this folder. It does not gain access to any of your other data on Dropbox.

If you like, you can even modify the files on your Mac or PC, or access the TaskRoll folder in Safari.

Sync Between Devices

You can use TaskRoll on more than one device and keep your projects synchronized through Dropbox. Any changes you make on one device will automatically propagate to your other linked devices. This includes your task lists as well as your current progress within your projects.

Note: App Settings and the order in which workflows appear on your screen are device-specific, i.e. not stored on Dropbox.

Synchronization Conflicts

A conflict may occur if the same file were modified on multiple devices at the same time. A typical scenario may be that one of the devices was offline when the modifications were made. TaskRoll will not merge such conflicts; it will only keep one of the two versions, usually the more recent one.

Restoring A Previous Version

A very useful feature of Dropbox is that it allows you to access the most recent versions of a file. To restore a previous version of a workflow, navigate to the TaskRoll folder on Dropbox in a web browser on your Mac or PC, Control-click on a project file and select “Previous versions”. On the next screen, you can choose which version to restore.

Important: For a restored, old version of a file to be uploaded by the TaskRoll app, you will need to re-save it to update the file modification date. To achieve this, simply open the file in a text editor, make a minor change (e.g. add a space to the end of the file), and save it.

Is the Data Encrypted?

No. Try not to store sensitive information in your task lists.

On your iPhone, all data is usually stored in an encrypted fashion (provided that you use a pass code). The files that are uploaded to Dropbox, however, are the un-encrypted versions.

Can I run TaskRoll on a Mac or PC?

No, but you can edit the task lists in any text editor that supports plain text. For the Mac we can recommend TextWrangler, its big brother BBEdit, or simply Apple’s TextEdit.


Next: Sharing Workflows via Email